North Carolina Food Sovereignty Under Siege Again

Buying local and knowing our food producer or supplier is one of the most powerful ways we have to directly influence our future food supply.  It is also one of the best means we have to avoid genetically engineered (GE) foods.  GE salmon is currently awaiting approval at the FDA, if approved it is only a short matter of time before more fish and animals are approved for human consumption.  This makes preserving our right and access to local, sustainable produced and unaltered food, in this case fish, even more important.  Please take a few moments to email your North Carolina State House representatives who are members of the House Committee on Commerce and Jobs Development in order to protect this right and your access!

North Carolina food sovereignty as well as our very cultural heritage are both under siege yet again. This time it is wild-caught seafood that is being attacked under the guise of sustainability and comes from a (mostly) different array of opponents than non-GE activists are accustomed to pitting ourselves against.  

House Bill 983 will diminish food sovereignty in North Carolina by prohibiting commercial fishermen from catching red drum, spotted sea trout and striped bass. HB983 would reserve those three species exclusively for sport fishermen. If passed, your only access to these varieties of North Carolina fish is if you have the access and ability to catch them yourself.

Wild caught seafood is already one of the most beleaguered and tightly regulated segments of the North Carolina local food system. This is our right and access to local, sustainable, clean, safe, healthy and tasty food running up against coastal developers, the wealthy sport fishing industry, factory fish farms and cheap imports (as well as all the associated issues) in addition to the ever present political agendas. 

The economic effects on our coastal residents could prove to be devastating.  According to the position taken by the North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries (NCDMF), “Commercial fishing operations in North Carolina are primarily small, family owned businesses that depend on the ability to to switch back-and-forth from fishery to fishery, based on environmental condition, regulatory constraints and market prices.  North Carolina simply does not have the huge industrial vessels found in other states.  In 2008, ninety-three percent of all commercial fishing vessel registrations were issued to boats that were no longer than thirty-eight feet.  Giving game fish status to certain stocks limits the commercial fisherman’s flexibility, creating an unnecessary hardship on this user group.”  

Do not be fooled by the language of this bill - wild-caught seafood is already managed sustainably. This bill DOES NOT reduce the catch limits on these three species of fish, it just limits who can catch, and therefore, eat them!

SIGN THE ONLINE PETITION HERE

For even stronger impact, please call and email the members of the House Committee on Commerce and Job Development and urge them to oppose H983. We don't need to begin this journey down the slippery slope of making certain local foods the exclusive domain of an elite few.

If you are not sure who your NC House Representative is, you can get that info at this link.   If your representative is a member, or better yet a chairperson  it would be most effective to address that particular representative individually as a constituent by phone rather than including him or her as part of a group email.

Following are members of the House Committee on Commerce and Job Development with links to their contact information, it is most effective to call whenever possible.  this is followed by combined list of email addresses that can be copied and pasted directly into the to field of your email:

Chairman

Rep. Murry

Vice Chairman

Rep. W. Brawley

Vice Chairman

Rep. Conrad

Vice Chairman

Rep. Millis

Vice Chairman

Rep. Moffitt

Vice Chairman

Rep. R. Moore

Vice Chairman

Rep. Saine

Vice Chairman

Rep. Stone

Vice Chairman

Rep. Torbett

Members

Rep. AlexanderRep. AvilaRep. L. BellRep. BlackwellRep. BolesRep. R. BrawleyRep. BrodyRep. B. BrownRep. BumgardnerRep. CarneyRep. CatlinRep. CollinsRep. CunninghamRep. DockhamRep. DollarRep. EarleRep. Farmer-ButterfieldRep. Fisher, Rep. FloydRep. FulghumRep. GoodmanRep. C. GrahamRep. G. GrahamRep. Hager, Rep. D. HallRep. HamiltonRep. HanesRep. HolleyRep. HollowayRep. HowardRep. JeterRep. JohnsonRep. LambethRep. LewisRep. LucasRep. MaloneRep. Martin, Rep. PierceRep. PresnellRep. RichardsonRep. RiddellRep. SamuelsonRep. Schaffer, Rep. SetzerRep. ShepardRep. SpecialeRep. StarnesRep. SteinburgRep. SzokaRep. TerryRep. TineRep. TolsonRep. WaddellRep. WarrenRep. WellsRep. WestRep. WhitmireRep. Wray

Tom.Murry@ncleg.net, Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net, Debra.Conrad@ncleg.net, Chris.Millis@ncleg.net, Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net, Rodney.Moore@ncleg.net, Jason.Saine@ncleg.net, Michael.Stone@ncleg.net, John.Torbett@ncleg.net, Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net, Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net, Larry.Bell@ncleg.net, Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net, Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Robert.Brawley@ncleg.net, Mark.Brody@ncleg.net, Brian.Brown@ncleg.net, Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, Rick.Catlin@ncleg.net, Jeff.Collins@ncleg.net, Carla.Cunningham@ncleg.net, Jerry.Dockham@ncleg.net, Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net, Beverly.Earle@ncleg.net, Jean.Farmer-Butterfield@ncleg.net, Susan.Fisher@ncleg.net, Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net, Jim.Fulghum@ncleg.net, Ken.Goodman@ncleg.net, Charles.Graham@ncleg.net, George.Graham@ncleg.net, Mike.Hager@ncleg.net, Duane.Hall@ncleg.net, Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net, Edward.Hanes@ncleg.net, Yvonne.Holley@ncleg.net, Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net, Julia.Howard@ncleg.net, Charles.Jeter@ncleg.net, Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net, Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net, David.Lewis@ncleg.net, Marvin.Lucas@ncleg.net, Chris.Malone@ncleg.net, Chris.Malone@ncleg.netSusan.Martin@ncleg.net, Garland.Pierce@ncleg.net, Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net, Bobbie.Richardson@ncleg.net, Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.net, Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net, Jacqueline.Schaffer@ncleg.net, Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net, Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net, Michael.Speciale@ncleg.net, Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net, Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.net, Evelyn.Terry@ncleg.net, Paul.Tine@ncleg.net, Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net, Ken.Waddell@ncleg.net, Harry.Warren@ncleg.net, Andy.Wells@ncleg.net, Roger.West@ncleg.net, Chris.Whitmire@ncleg.net, Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

Thank you to John Day at the Center for Environment Farming System for making us aware of this issue and providing information.

Do you like this post?

Showing 1 reaction


commented 2013-11-06 21:42:58 -0500 · Flag
TY :)
Do Not Alter
Fighting for real, unadulterated food!